Instructor Training
 

To become a Cosmetology Instructor, with two years active practical cosmetology experience they may complete 750 clock hours or complete 2000 clock hours of instructor training, for a person who lacks the required experience.  Anyone interested in becoming an Instructor must be a graduate of an approved beauty school in either the state of Mississippi or any other state.  The person must hold a current Mississippi Cosmetology license.  Applicants must have twelve semester hours approved by the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology.  The subject matter is as follows; training in theory observation, skill observation, the professional teacher, student motivating, methods, management, testing evaluation, and Cosmetology law, rules and regulations.  The instructor training also includes practical training and technical instruction covering all practices of Cosmetology.  For persons interested in a career as a Cosmetology Instructor the following employment opportunities are as follows; School Manager, School Instructor, Platform Educator, Lecturer, Styles Director, or School Ownership.

   
Clock Hours Required: 750 / 2000
   
Tuition Costs: 750 hour / 2000 hour $3,000.00 / $6,816.00
   
Books and Kit Costs: Non-Refundable Once Issued $900.00
   
Registration Fee: Non-Refundable $175.00 (Non-Refundable)
   
Total Program Cost: 750 hour / 2000 hour $4,075.00 / $7,891.00
   
3 Year Average Completion Rate: Percentage of students that actually graduated 79.71%
   
3 Year Average Licensure Rate: Percentage of graduates that passed the licensing exam 94%
   
3 Year Average Placement Rate: Percentage of Graduates Eligible
for employment that are actually employed in the
cosmetology field
85.45%